Recorded in Finland after my studies at Boston’s Berklee College of Music – thanks to my Boston teachers: Herb Pomeroy, Gary Burton, Michael Giubbs and especially Charlie Banacos

Many “Sunwebs” songs were featured at Viapori Jazz festival in Helsinki, 2008, at Love Jazz 25 anniversary concert


      1. OPEN SPIRITS: inspired by a magical night at Boomers in NYC
      2. BURNSIDE: fast jazz track
      3. HUES: features piano & muted tpt

4. CRY: piano solo by Heikki

      5. 60 WINSLOW AVE: shades of Miles groove - longer demo
      6. SLOW: rubato track-improvised interplay
      7. SUNWEBS: features Pekka on alto sax
      8. WATER: tranquil piece - impressions on Indonesia



Heikki “Mike” Koskinen, trumpet, piano;  Pekka Pöyry, alto & soprano sax; Vladimir Shafranov, piano, el.piano; Pekka Sarmanto, bass; Heikki Virtanen, el. bass; Reino Laine, drums, Juhani Aaltonen, flute (tracks 6&8); Pentti Lahti, bass clarinet (tracks 6&8); Ilpo Saastamoinen, guitar (tracks 6&8)

Recorded at Finnvox Studios, November and December 1975.

SUNWEBS / LRCD 157, Love Records 1975 / Siboney 2001

Released in 1976, remastered 2001 for CD